Study skills

I am currently working on a program to deliver study skills to our Sixth Form students here at Haileybury – looking at a variety of approaches including:

  • Pomodoro technique
  • Cornell note taking
  • Organisation
  • Dual coding
  • Examination technique
  • Spacing
  • Retrieval practice
  • Interleaving
  • Elaboration
  • Concrete examples

This is pulled from research by, amongst others, Jennifer Gonzalez and The Learning Scientists, and I was delighted to have completed the following study skills course to firm up some of my beliefs:  “Improving Your Study Techniques” delivered via the University of Groningen.

Thanks go out to Maple Hupkins and Anne-Miek Hermsen for an engaging and insightful course – I note that it is aimed at university-grade students but I am trialling some of the content on our Y11 students.

If anybody has any study skills experiences / tips they wish to share to enhance this offering, please feel free to get in touch.

Leave a comment